The Power of a Series by Katie Muhtaris


Nerdy Book Club

When I was about nine years old, a family friend gave me a large box of Nancy Drew books, the kind where Nancy still sported a stylish 60’s bob and sensible flats. They had once belonged to their teenage daughter who had passed away many years earlier.  I suppose they thought the books would be better served in the hands of another young reader, or maybe they were just too painful to look at.  Either way, we left Crown Point, Indiana, with a box of books in the trunk and me laying across the back seat watching the rhythmic passing of highway street lamps.  I fell asleep somewhere just before the Illinois border and woke up the next morning in my bed.

Bouncing from my bed with an uncharacteristic energy, I seized one faded folded flap and pulled the box, now sitting in the middle of my bedroom floor, open…

View original post 1,000 more words

Leave a Reply

