Goal Setting


As a teacher, I am very aware of setting goals: goals that are measurable and attainable. However, I have not ever really done much in the way of goal setting on a personal level.

As I have started my fitness journey this time, I have done a couple of things differently. First, I am seeing a wellness coach. She is helping me to keep my focus and to think about goals. Secondly, I have started looking at the end game. What is it that I want to accomplish? Just saying I want to lose weight or I want to be healthier isn’t enough. I have an eventual goal weight but that is so far away from where I am now, that it doesn’t seem like a realistic goal.

The first goal I set was to record everything I eat…no cheating because really, who am I cheating? I have done well with that, even though its been somewhat painful to realize how badly I eat when I’m not thinking about it. Way way way too much fat…LOL! I am working on changing my thoughts on eating. Those who know me realize how hard that is. I’m a baker and cook whenever I can.

The second goal is one that has been in my mind for a long time. I want to be able to hike up mountains, specifically up the Pino Trail to Sandia Crest. This plan is what has really fueled my fitness journey. I NEED to be in better shape for this to happen.

So, my current goal is to walk at least 6 times a week. Since the start of July, I have walked every day but one. Most of my walks have been at least a mile. So I am now adding a new goal to this. I am going to sign up for a 5k walk on Aug 6th with a challenge to myself to do one 5k a month for the next year. I don’t know if I will eventually run these or not…I have never been a runner. But you never know!

I have added some weight work to my plan but haven’t decided what my goal there is yet. I know that building strength is part of what I need to do, so I will come up with a plan.

Somehow, I am cobbling together a fitness plan that I enjoy and am doing on my terms đŸ™‚ Looking forward to the day I can take a picture of myself at the top of the mountain!!!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. nickhfitness
    Jul 18, 2016 @ 11:09:24

    Congratulations on the start of your journey! It truly is so rewarding! I look forward to seeing that pic on the top of the mountain!!

    Reply

  2. Aunt Mary Anna
    Jul 18, 2016 @ 11:25:03

    I admire what you are doing and have a word of advice from personal experience. As far as weight loss, set smaller goals ( I used 10 lb increments). If you look at the end goal it seems insurmountable and it is easy to get discouraged. Good luck on your journey!!

    Reply

    • coffeequilter
      Jul 18, 2016 @ 11:31:20

      Oh absolutely! The end weight is half my current weight and honestly isn’t as important as hiking the mountain. Right now, my weight goal is to be under 300… 9 pounds away…and it’s been more than 5 years since I’ve been there.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

