A Principal’s Secret…But Promise You Won’t Tell the Kids… by Sheila Beckner


Nerdy Book Club

So here is my secret I have learned over time:

It’s not always about the kids.

Sometimes it’s about the adults.

And always…it’s about the books.

Who am I?  I am an elementary principal. I am a reader.  I am a reading role model – or at least that is what I try to be. Like all principals, I am driven to build a school culture that makes reading like breathing – it’s just what we do – it’s how we live.

I diligently read each Nerdy post.  I have stacks of “waiting to be read” books at home and at school.  I fill my office with beautifully arranged shelves and bins of books to share.  As Donalyn taught us, each year I cover my office door with photo covers of books I read throughout the year.  I constantly “talk” books with kids.  I write morning messages to kids about…

View original post 736 more words

Leave a Reply

