Save the World Clam Chowder


I was looking for a good clam chowder recipe yesterday. I had a can of clams that I bought and really wanted to find something to do with them. Most of the recipes called for carrots and celery. Now I have nothing against carrots, although I don’t care for them cooked. But I have a SERIOUS problem with celery. Ask my coworkers who have watched me pick the celery out of soup in the lunch room! So I kept looking until I found this recipe that didn’t have any extras in it at all. It consisted of clams, potatoes and onions. I used that as my starter and then adapted it to my liking. The result is what my husband calls Save the World Clam Chowder.

Save the World Clam Chowder

Ingredients

1 26 oz. can of baby clams

1 8 oz. bottle of clam juice

3 slices of bacon

1 small onion, diced

4 cups of water

1 Tbs chicken buillion

1 Tbs parsley

4 cups potatoes, peeled and diced

1 cup of  milk

6 Tbs flour

salt, pepper, and garlic to taste

1. Cut bacon strips into small pieces. Cook in frying pan with diced onions until brown.

2. In a large pot, add clam juice, water, buillion, bacon and onions. Bring to a boil. Add salt, pepper and garlic to taste.

3. Add potatoes. Turn heat to medium and cook unitl potatoes start to get soft. This took about an hour.

4. Add clams. Bring to a boil.

5. Mix flour in water to form a roux. (Put flour into a small bowl and add water a little at a time, mixing with a fork to remove all lumps. Add water until you have a runny paste.) Add roux to boiling soup. Mix it in so it doesn’t form lumps.

6. Add milk. and heat until it starts to bubble.

7. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

