Pinto Beans and Cornbread


Alrighty then…tonight a fairly easy meal. Especially so tonight because I used a box mix for the cornbread. I do have a decent cornbread from scratch recipe but I was in a hurry today.

I have been on a mission to get the richness of Louisiana beans in my pintos. I think I have gotten it with this recipe!

Crockpot Pinto Beans

1 quart chicken broth
3 cups dried pinto beans
1 small onion diced
1 smoked ham hock or 2 cups of ham
2 teaspoons of Creole seasoning
Salt, pepper and garlic to taste

Rinse and sort the pinto beans. Pour the chicken broth and beans into the crockpot. Dice the onion and add it and the seasonings to the crockpot. Cook on low for at least 12 hours. I usually start it the night before and its perfect when I get home from work!
I served the beans over the cornbread with monterey jack cheese on top. DEEEEEEElish:)

Leave a Reply

