Thoughts on the new novel…and the old one.


I am going to leave Shadows as is… I just can’t bring myself to change it at all. I tried but just can’t do it. Anyway, I found a contest in one of my writers mags that is looking for shorter novels so I am going to enter it. We will see what happens.

The new novel, tentatively titled “Anywhere But Here” is starting to take shape. I am approaching it in a much different way than I did Shadows. With Shadows, the story just came out…mostly fully formed. This one is taking shape in fits and starts.

The story as I see it right now: My main character, Shelly. is a drifter traveling the country in an RV. She has dropped out of mainstream life due to being beat-up/possibly raped by her father and some of his friends. She hasn’t been home in over ten years, but gets a call from her best friend from childhood who needs help. She goes back to New Mexico to find her friend is missing/ possibly killed. She gets together with another childhood friend to solve the mystery of what has happened to her friend and to make peace with her past.

This is still in very rough outline form. I have a few paragraphs written down and a lot more working itself out in my head. Mixed all up in the story is a lot of research I have done on rving, bluegrass and rodeo. LOL! Not sure exactly how its all fitting together but I am excited to finally be working on the writing again.

Let me know what you think!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jeannie Mobley
    Dec 29, 2010 @ 22:15:24

    Funny how different writing projects can come from different places! It sounds like an interesting premise, and I love the setting. I hope as you get started writing more it comes easily! The beginning can be an exciting (if somewhat daunting) place!

    Reply

    • coffeequilter
      Dec 29, 2010 @ 22:45:04

      I’m excited about this one. I really have a lot of pieces of the story floating around in my head. I had that first paragraph bouncing around for a while. Thanks for checking it out!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

