Blueberry Muffins


 

Blueberry Muffins

The next day, Nelly couldn’t wait for her cup of coffee. She dressed quickly and headed for Celestial Visions. She could smell fresh blueberry muffins as soon she turned the corner. When she opened the door, Sadie had already poured her cup of coffee and had a saucer with two of the beautiful muffins ready at her table.

“Oh my, how did you know that I was coming?”

Sadie smiled. She had the sweetest grandmotherly smile. “I saw you turn the corner. I had hoped you would come back today.”

“I woke up thinking about blueberry muffins and your wonderful coffee.” Nelly inhaled the steam from the coffee and took a sip. She could feel the smoothness of the creamy drink working its miracles on her half-awake senses. Closing her eyes, she sighed with pleasure and smiled. “Oh that is perfect.”

Sadie got her own cup of coffee and came to sit at the table. “I hope you don’t mind. I enjoyed visiting with you yesterday.”

Nelly didn’t mind. In fact, she wanted to talk to Sadie about the coffee shop. She was hoping for advice on how to set up her own place. “No, I don’t mind. I was wanting to ask you about this place. What made you decide to open a coffee shop?”

“I have dreamed about a place like this for most of my life. Somewhere to go to get away from reality for a while. I was married and raised six children, mostly on my own because my husband was always so busy with his patients. I love baking and most of my recipes are ones I perfected while the kids were little. When they were babies, I created this place in my mind. It gave me comfort during rough times. So after my husband died, I sold everything and planned for almost a year before I opened my doors.”

“I have a place similar to this that I dream of. I have always hoped to do the same. I’ve been squirreling away what money I can in the hopes that someday I can make my dream come true.” Nelly sighed a little wistfully. “This is almost exactly what I had in mind. Although, the pastries are a delightful addition. I’m not a very good cook.”

Sadie grinned suddenly. “I wasn’t either when I got married. but neccessity breeds invention. I found if I could tinker with recipes instead of following directions, I was much better. And the more I practiced the better I got.” She got up suddenly and walked back to the kitchen. When she returned, she had a battered notebook in her hands. She sat down and opened the book. It was full of recipes in plastic page protectors. Flour dust swirled up as she turned the pages. “The recipes I created are all down here on these pages. As I perfected them, I wrote the recipe down so I would have the right recipes at hand. Experimenting is fun but you can’t guarantee the results.” She turned the pages until she found the one she wanted. Then she removed a paper and pencil from the back of the book. She copied the blueberry muffin recipe down onto the paper in neat, precise cursive.

While she was writing, Nelly looked on in curiousity as she ate the muffins. She took her time, reveling in the bright sweet blueberry flavor. Using her index finger, she cleaned every crumb from the plate.

“Okay, this is the recipe I used for the blueberry muffins you just ate. The key is to use fresh blueberries. Follow the directions precisely, and you should have muffins that taste as good as the ones you just ate.” Sadie passed the recipe to Nelly and then stood and took the book back to the kitchen.

When she returned, Nelly stood and took a five from her purse. “Thank you so much Sadie. I need to get to work but I really enjoyed breakfast.” She took the recipe and put it into her purse. “I will try the muffins this weekend. I can’t wait to see how they turn out!”

Sadie smiled again. “Nelly, have a wonderful day and I will see you tomorrow!”

Nelly pushed her chair in and gathered her things. She waved and went out to begin her day.

Blueberry Muffins

  • 8 tablespoons (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened at room temperature
  • 1 cup plus 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 1/2 cups fresh or thawed frozen blueberries
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1/2 cup whole, 2 percent fat, or 1 percent fat milk
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

Directions

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F. Grease a muffin tin or line the cups with paper liners. In a mixer fitted with a paddle attachment (or using a hand mixer), cream the butter until smooth. Add 1 cup of the sugar and mix. Add the eggs, vanilla, baking powder, and salt and mix. In a shallow bowl, mash 3/4 cup of the blueberries with the back of a fork. Add to the batter and mix.

With the mixer running at low speed, add 1/2 of the flour, then 1/2 of the milk, and mix. Repeat with remaining flour and milk. Fold in the remaining 1 3/4 cups whole blueberries by hand until well mixed. In a separate small bowl, mix the remaining 2 tablespoons sugar with the cinnamon. Use an ice-cream scoop or large spoon to fill the muffin cups 3/4 full. Sprinkle the cinnamon-sugar over the muffins and bake until golden brown and risen, 25 to 30 minutes. Let cool in the pan at least 30 minutes before turning out.

Leave a Reply

