Old Time Hobbies


I’ve come to the conclusion that I should have been born a century earlier. I have fallen in love with many of the hobbies of yesteryear.

I love baking and cooking in general. I bake at least one loaf of bread or batch of rolls a week. Anthony eats brownies and jam cakes as fast as I can cook them. I am currently looking for a good recipe for danishes so I can make some for the baby shower on Sunday. Canning is my new fascination. I have canned jams and fruit such as pears and apples. We made a huge amount of applesauce last fall. I trimmed green beans for several hours and canned 60 pints or so over Christmas break. The new thing is canning meat. I have canned ground beef which makes spaghetti sauce a snap, chicken that is so tender it melts in your mouth and pork roast which I cannot wait to cook in green chili stew this fall.

I am a wannabe quilter. I have collected fabric for years and completed a couple of quilts. The best one I have ever done from start to finish was the 50 state quilt my class created for the Pastabilities auction at school. I have several tops which I purchased on EBay that I would love to get quilted. I also need to finish quilts for both daughters and both grandsons. The biggest problem with quilting is that I don’t yet have a sewing room so everything has to be set up and put away each time I work on it.

I would love to crochet. I buy yarn and needles periodically. I start projects but for some reason I have never been able to complete them. I don’t know if crocheting is to monotonous to keep my attention or what the deal is. I absolutely love crocheted afghans but I think I may have to leave the crocheting to those who can complete their crochet projects.

Already, I make my own laundry soap. I simply cannot bring myself to buy soap when i can make my own for a fraction of the cost. The next project I am thinking about attempting is body wash and shampoos. I have the books and am doing the research. I can’t wait to try to make soap with the qualities I like in soap.

I like being somewhat self-sufficient. Not sure I am ready to be off the grid completely. There are too many conveniences that I enjoy in modern society. But it sure is fun learning to do for myself!

Leave a Reply

