Train Travelin’


Image

Very few things capture the imagination like trains. How many of us have dreamed of hopping a train to points unknown. Woody Guthrie and Merle Haggard rode the rails. Songs like “City of New Orleans”, “Orange Blossom Special” and “Rock Island Line” and many many others perpetuate the dream. Paul Theroux wrote of his adventures traveling through Europe and Asia by train. 

Image

 

For me, the allure of the train has always been the travel. Going somewhere, anywhere is an exciting notion to me. Trains have the added benefit of just being cool. The rhythmic motion and sounds as it passes fire up my imagination. Grabbing hold and swinging into a boxcar, standing at the open door, feeling the wind in my hair and the rails beneath my feet… 

Image

I know the realities are not as romantic as they seem. I have seen photographic images of hobos, both from Woody Guthrie’s days and modern day. Not a pretty image at all. 

Image

 

 

But to quote Dierks Bentley in his song, “Train Travelin'”

“Am I a fool to think it glamorous
Box-carrin’ like a hobo, it must have been rough
But a simpler way of life is what it really means to me
When we weren’t so dependent on money to be free”

Image

 

I realize I am not the only one to find trains fascinating. They are a window to the past as well as an awaiting adventure. 

Image

 

Image

Image

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gloria
    Mar 12, 2014 @ 07:05:30

    I would love to go cross country on a train, since I will never fly again. Last time I was on a plane was to San Francisco, in simpler times, before 9-11! I remember when I was 15, I took the train to Los Angeles to spend the Summer with my Cousins. One Way ticket was a whole $30.00!

    Reply

  2. bigboy4006
    Mar 12, 2014 @ 09:40:05

    The train bug got another one, eh? It got me a few years ago and I’ve been hooked ever since, so much so that, even though I’m a teenager, I would much rather be trackside than screen side. I know the feeling of wanting to take a train ride just to take a train ride, and wish you luck in your travels.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 361 other followers

